Kauan koskematon


Album was composed and produced by Tuomas M. Mäkelä during the winter 1998-1999.

Album cover artwork by Aslak Tolonen (Nest).


Originally released as cassette tape in 1999.
Re-released as CD digipak in 2018.
Re-released as pro-tape in 2020.
Re-release as vinyl available Sept 5, 2022: read post.


 Title in FinnishTitle in English
01.Askeleet valottomuuteenTreads To The Absence Of Light
02.Kauan koskematonAeons Untouched
03.Unohdetut lumouksen unelmatForgotten Dreams Of Enchantment
04.KauasFar Away
05.Tulensinisen hohtoShining Of Fire Blue
07.Hänen jäätävä katseensaHer Freezing Gaze
08.Kohtalon sinettiSeal Of Destiny

Download digital album from Bandcamp

Listen to the album on Spotify

Reviews and comments

To say this is an honor to reissue this work is an understatement… Jääportit’s “Kauan Koskematon” from 1999 is nothing short of a masterpiece which I consider the crown jewel of so called “winter synth“, now available on cassette for the first time in over 20 years.

Out of Season

Beautiful melodies that are somber and yet somehow very nostalgic. This entire album is a masterpiece!

-Aradias Kingdom Fan Page

The rarefied atmospheres take the listener to a world where human coordinates are lost, in favour of a transfiguration towards purer and more ethereal forms of existence.

-Valerio, Crypta Nivis Webzine

The music is well played, well constructed and really sucks you into its depths.

-Solemn webzine

It consists of a beautiful arrangement of various synth sounds, creating a dark and depressing atmosphere, yet very beautiful.

-SkullFuck webzine

Askeleet valottomuuteen 

Se mitä ei näe valossa
Erottuu yössä
Eräiden kosketuksena
Varjoissa tuntemattomina

Muistot tummasta unesta
Kehottavat olemaan
Yhtä kanssanne

Lopeta kylmyyden tuska
Veitsi vereen kasta

(Part of unwritten story.)
– T. M. M. 1998