Fan Video of Transforming Aegis

Our fan called Hartsword made a video of our song Muuntuva suoja (Transforming Aegis). He said that “the materials I have used were from BBC series of Planet Earth. I think that mountains covered by snow and wild nature really fits with your music, especially with your newest album. ‘Voimasuo’ belongs to my TOP 5 of this year.”

Check it out at Youtube

Thanks for the support and Happy New Year 2010 Everyone.

Field Recordings Compilation Vol. I

Jääportit participated on another compilation album Field Recordings Compilation Vol. I with a peaceful ambient track titled as “Autius”.

Album’s concept comes from the depths of Siberia. This various artists compilation features only field recordings including projects from Russia, Finland, Italy and other countries from around the globe. The cold sound of the wind from the frozen steppes right into your living room.

Album is a contribution of several peoples:
_Algol_ & Stuzha (idea, mixing, mastering, photos)
Tuomas M. Mäkelä from Jääportit (cover design and pictures)
Species Productions (printing, releasing and distributing)
Laurinda Demelo (photo artworks).

Album was released as 8-pages digibook CD-R by a Greece label Species Productions at July 2009.

For more info and purchasing the album visit these sites:

Epidemie Records offers new albums for special price

On the Tuesday, 12th of May 2009, three new interesting full-length CD albums will be released by Czech label EPIDEMIE RECORDS.

JÄÄPORTIT – Voimasuo
Smashing new album of frosty Finnish project JÄÄPORTIT. Seven atmospheric compositions blending together dreamy ethereal ambient, cold rhythmical Nordic electronics and melancholic post-rock. The album is thematically dedicated to the world under transformation. Intense, strong, polymorphous and mostly instrumental album hardly fits in conventional categories, because it´s kind of a musical labyrinth, definitely worth of exploring. The album is coming out in nice six panels digipack in limited edition of 600 pieces.

THY CATAFALQUE – Róka hasa rádió

Hungarian THY CATAFALQUE was born in 1998 as epic black metal band. Since that time it has progressed to its actual, very original music that can be described as avant-garde post black metal / ambient / folk. Tamás Kátai and János Juhász, the forming couple of THY CATAFALQUE, invited nine other musicians (viola, cello, clarinet etc.) as guests and they recorded very unusual 70 minutes album called Róka hasa rádió. The whole album is in Hungarian, male vocal is completed with beautiful ethereal female voice of guest singer Ágnes Tóth (The Moon and the Nightspirit). Róka hasa rádió is coming out in nice eight panels digipack in limited edition of 600 pieces.

After very successful album Nearby Being (2006, in cooperation with Ad Lux Tenebrae project), a new album of mysterious project from Russian Ural is being released. 74 minutes long composition called Noughtwards is full of dark harmonic drones and subtle pulsations, and is meant to multiply your inner self by zero and to take you off… noughtwards. The album is coming out in nice six panels digipack in limited edition of 600 pieces.

Now Epidemie Records offers all of these albums for a special price:
13 EUR (1st class airmail included) for one CD or
30 EUR (Europe) / 31 EUR (World) (1st class airmail included and registered) for all three CD´s.

Take contact to Epidemie Records for PayPal address and other details.

Voimasuo – available on 12th of May 2009!

The 4th full-length Jääportit album Voimasuo has finally been finished. Album will be released as 600 copies limited edition CD in 6-panel digipak covers by Epidemie Records, a fine indie record label in Czech Republic.

According to the latest information album will be available on 12th of May 2009!

Track listing of Voimasuo (Vigor Swamp):

01. Tuulten tuoja (Bearer of Winds)
02. Arvoitusten luona (Close to Mystery)
03. Suon sulaessa (Thawing Swamp)
04. Hengenvaara (Mortal Danger)
05. Sudenkuoppa (Wolf Pit)
06. Muuntuva suoja (Transforming Aegis)
07. Katoaminen tornissa (Disappearance in Tower)

Listen and download the album

<a href="">Tuulten tuoja by Jääportit</a>

My Own Wolf: A New Approach to ULVER

Russian underground production team Aspherical Asphyxia has released an international tribute to ULVER called “My Own Wolf: A New Approach”. The nearly three-hour long set, which commemorates ULVER‘s 15th anniversary, is being released in two ways: The first is the free Internet release, available now via the project’s official web site. “My Own Wolf: A New Approach” will also be issued as a physical double-CD.

On July, 28th 2008 COLD DIMENSIONS – label will release “My Own Wolf: A New Approach to ULVER”, compilation achieved by an armarda of young and comparably ambitious artists that are rather inspired by the band’s great spirit and artistic vision than a mere form of musical expression. Thus this double CD contains songs from almost the band’s entire opus (from the legendary 1993 demo tape “Vargnatt” up to “Blood Inside” from 2005) in a wide range of styles and musical colours.

Jääportit is part of the compilation album with the cover of Ulver track “Gnosis” originally released on Metamorphosis EP. Our version includes vocals by Mindy and electric guitar played by Vesa Partti (of Sadkarma). You can listen to the track on Music website

Schedule Changes in Radio Interview

A rare and tremendous piece of bad luck stroke! Recent weather over London has caused damage to Resonance fm’s studio roof and the entire station will be running archive material, while the station is being repaired. Therefore Jääportit interview will have to be put to Monday May 14th at 23:30 GMT.

FIN: Huomiokaa, että täällä Suomessa kyseinen radio-ohjelma kuuluu eri aikaan kuin Lontoossa, eli pari tuntia myöhemmin, tiistaina 15.5. aamuyöllä klo 01.30 alkaen.

You can listen to the full interview with the audio player:

Jääportit-interview 03-18-2007